Skip to content
AnnualReports.co.bw

Botswana Housing Corporation

Established by an Act of Parliament (CAP 74:03) of 1970; primarily involved in property development and estate management services. The FY2025 report describes BHC as Government's Single Housing Authority (SiHA).

Type
Parastatal
Sector
Housing & Property
Abbreviation
BHC
Established
—
Financial year end
Mar
Reporting currency
Pula (BWP)
Reports published
6
Latest year
FY2025

Key intelligence

Latest year FY2025, in Pula

Revenue

FY2025

P739.5m

+40.8% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Profit before tax

FY2025

−P101.7m

−340.1% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Net profit

FY2025

−P104.6m

−458.5% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Total assets

FY2025

P2.61bn

−8.3% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Total liabilities

FY2025

P1.07bn

Calculated
−11.1% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Total equity

FY2025

P1.54bn

−6.3% vs FY2024FY2025p. 30

Employees

FY2025

299

No prior yearFY2025p. 15

Chief Executive

Not reported

Board Chair

Not reported

Historical trends

Drawn from the stored figures. Growth rates are calculated, never generated.
RevenueFY2021–FY2025
CAGR −0.7%

From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30

Profit before taxFY2021–FY2025

From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30

Total assetsFY2021–FY2025
CAGR −3.7%

From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30

Operating costsFY2021–FY2025
CalculatedCAGR +11.0%

From 5 annual reports. Latest: Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/25p. 30

Five-year summary

BWP millions unless stated
Key metrics by financial year, BWP millions unless stated.
MetricFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025
Revenue760.0701.5553.1525.2*739.5
Operating costs271.9C288.7C323.4C351.9C412.5C
Profit before tax1.872.230.2*42.4*(101.7)*
Net profit1.164.123.129.2*(104.6)
Total assets3,041.72,895.42,775.52,850.7*2,612.7
Total liabilities1,509.7C1,299.2C1,156.3C1,202.3C1,069.0C
Total equity1,532.0*1,596.11,619.2*1,648.4*1,543.8
Employees(people)Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported299*
Specific to this organisation, not comparable with others
Total operating expenses (financial review)241.0*258.0*Not reported379.0*Not reported
Approved establishment (posts)(positions)Not reported316*316*316*Not reported

C calculated from printed lines (see below). R restated. * see note. Hover a value for its source page.

How calculated figures are built (10)
Notes on the figures (23)
  • Revenue, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Operating costs, FY2021. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
  • Operating costs, FY2022. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative. FLAG/RESTATEMENT: the FY2023 report (PDF p.88) revised FY2022 presentation of impairments; FY2022 Other expenses shown there as (68,192) vs (66,203) here, which would give 290,706.
  • Operating costs, FY2023. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
  • Operating costs, FY2024. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Operating costs, FY2025. BHC does not print a single operating-costs line. Standard value derived consistently as Repairs and maintenance + Employee benefit expenses + Depreciation and amortisation + Other expenses (excludes cost of sales and impairment). This matches the "Operating Expenses (excl. impairment)" definition BHC used in its FY2025 BSE abridged results (FY2025 P412.5m; FY2024 P351.9m). Narrative "Total operating expenses" figures in the reports use different definitions year to year - see org-specific metric reported_total_operating_expenses_narrative.
  • Profit before tax, FY2023. Directors' report in the same report (PDF p.81) states "a profit before taxation of P30,238,000" - P1k difference vs the statement (rounding); statement figure used.
  • Profit before tax, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Profit before tax, FY2025. Label "(Loss)/profit before taxation" is printed on the line below the figures in the text layer.
  • Net profit, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Total assets, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Total liabilities, FY2021. FLAG: FY2022 report comparative shows Total current liabilities 870,537 (customer deposits 14,051 vs 14,053) - P1k/P2k differences.
  • Total liabilities, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source. FLAG: FY2025 report comparative shows Total non-current liabilities 551,843 (P1k rounding difference).
  • Total equity, FY2021. FLAG: FY2022 report comparative (and statement of changes in equity) shows 1,532,004 (P1k rounding difference).
  • Total equity, FY2023. FLAG: FY2024 report comparative shows 1,619,203 (P1k rounding difference).
  • Total equity, FY2024. FY2024 report: column headers on this page read "2023 2024" but the first value column carries FY2024 figures (cross-checked against FY2025 report comparatives and FY2023 report); header appears transposed in the source.
  • Employees, FY2025. Text continues "employees, which consists of 59%..." on the next text line. Date of count not stated (assumed at/around FY-end; not confirmed).
  • Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2021. Narrative figure; appears to exclude depreciation and impairment.
  • Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2022. Narrative figure; appears to exclude depreciation and impairment. Not comparable with FY2024 narrative definition.
  • Total operating expenses (financial review), FY2024. Narrative figure (financial review). Appears to include depreciation and impairment (65.2+153.7+44.1+89.0+26.6). Not comparable with other years - kept org-specific.
  • Approved establishment (posts), FY2022. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.
  • Approved establishment (posts), FY2023. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.
  • Approved establishment (posts), FY2024. "Establishment" = approved staff positions, NOT actual headcount; not mapped to standard metric "employees". Actual employee count for this year not stated in the report.

Annual reports

6 reports
YearReportPeriodPagesStatusDocument
FY2025Botswana Housing Corporation Annual Report 2024/251 Apr 2024 – 31 Mar 202562PublishedOpen PDF
FY2024BHC Annual Report 2024 ("Reimagining Housing Through Innovation")1 Apr 2023 – 31 Mar 2024176PublishedOpen PDF
FY2023BHC Annual Report 20231 Apr 2022 – 31 Mar 2023156PublishedOpen PDF
FY2022BHC Annual Report 20221 Apr 2021 – 31 Mar 2022168PublishedOpen PDF
FY2021BHC Annual Report 20211 Apr 2020 – 31 Mar 2021132PublishedOpen PDF
FY2020BHC Annual Report 2020—149CollectedOpen PDF

Ask about BHC

Answers draw only on BHC’s published reports and cite the page they came from.